Dick Ruddell Scholarship ($500)

Dick Ruddell was a longtime umpire and member of the SDUA.  He is a member of the SDUA Hall of Fame as well as the South Dakota Amateur Baseball Hall of Fame.  He was also a pillar in the Spearfish community both on and off the baseball diamond until his passing in 2012.  In honor of Dick and his many accomplishments, the SDUA awards the $500 Dick Ruddell Scholarship each year to a derserving full-time student. If you are interested or know someone who qualifies, please complete the application below.  

Students must meet the following criteria to be eligible:

  1. Must be a full-time student.
  2. Must be currently enrolled in either a 2-year or 4-year institution.
  3. Entering at least their second year of post-secondary school (Sophomore). 
    1. Students may also apply when entering their 3rd and 4th years. 
    2. Each student is eligble for 3 years when enrolled in a 4-year institution.
  4. Must be in an undergraduate program.  Graduate students are not eligible.
  5. May apply each year of their eligibility.  
  6. Past winners are not eligible to apply again.
  7. Applicants DO NOT have to be members of the SDUA.

If you meet the above criteria, we encourage you to apply.  You can complete the application HERE.  Deadline in August 1st of each year.

Scholarship Recipients 

Year Recipient Hometown   Year Recipient Hometown
2023 Teegan Schlimgen Sioux Falls 2006 Jason Skinner Mitchell 
2022 Raygen Randall Salem 2005 Eric Rodenborn Brandon
2021 Benjamin Laufman Mitchell  2004 Mike Bertram Colome
2020 Michael Drotzmann Yankton 2003 Jeff Heisinger Parkston
2019 Kayla Jacobson Rapid City 2002 Jeremy Schulz Sioux Falls
2018 Jacob Devine Brookings 2001 Jesse Kurtenback Groton
2017 Will Ellwanger Pierre 2000 Aric Boschee Woonsocket
2016 Landon Neugebauer Mitchell  1999 Ross Brende Dell Rapids
2015 Deric Denning Mt. Vernon 1998 Aaron Losing Alpena
2014 Michael Sadler Mitchell  1997 Todd Rahlf Clear Lake
2013 Kebly Beste Brookings 1996 Justin Pfeife Menno
2012 Mark Vig Yankton 1995 Eric Hortness Parker
2011 Jason Schmidt Mitchell  1994 Nathan Schlimgen Plankinton
2010 Trent Sherman Winner 1993 Mark Gemar Scotland
2009 Spencer Sudbeck Mt. Vernon 1992 Joe Kieffer Howard
2008 Aaron Warren Herrick 1991 Pete Wilson Canistota
2007 Matt Huber Mitchell  1990 Chad Cooley Rapid City



South Dakota Umpires Association
48465 250th Street
Garretson, SD 57030
(605) 660-1493